Nuclear Lunch: Spring 2018

This is an archive of the Spring 2018 topics; the schedule for the current semester is located here.


Date Discussion Leader Topic / Paper(s)
17 January Frantz Organizational Meeting
24 January Mahesh Poudel This week there are actually two papers: Energy-Dependent Neutrino-Nucleon Cross Section Above 10 TeV Using IceCube Showers Unpublished
Measurement of the multi-TeV neutrino interaction cross-section with IceCube using Earth absorption Nature 551, 596.600 (30 November 2017)
Faculty Advisor: Phillips
31 January Sudhanva Lalit Discussion of questions from previous week.
7 February M. H. Anik Observation of five new narrow Omega_0_c states decaying to Xi^+_c+ K_+, CMS Collaboration, Phys. Rev. Lett. 118, 162001 (2017). PRL Synopsis: Five Charming New Baryons,
Faculty Advisor: Hicks
14 February Utsav Shrestha Discussion of questions from previous week.
21 February Matt Burrows Refining mass formulas for astrophysical applications: A Bayesian neural network approach, R. Utama and J. Piekarewicz, Phys. Rev. C 96 044308 (2017).
Faculty Advisor: Meisel
28 February Bishnu Karki Discussion of questions from previous week.
7 March Doug Soltesz Discovery of 72Rb : A Nuclear Sandbank Beyond the Proton Drip Line, H. Suzuki et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 119, 192503
Faculty Advisor: Prakash
14 March No meeting Spring Break.
21 March Ibrahim Alnamlah Discussion of questions from previous week
28 March Taya Chetry Discovery of a big void in Khufu’s Pyramid by observation of cosmic-ray muons, K. Morishima, M. Kuno and M. Tayoubi, Nature 552, pp. 386–390 (2017)
Faculty Advisor: Frantz
4 April Joey Rawley Discussion of questions from previous week.
11 April Robert Radloff New Measurement of the Direct Decay from the 12C Hoyle State,R. Smith, et. al. Phys. Rev. Lett. 119, 132502 (2017). PRL Viewpoint Watching the Hoyle State Fall Apart,
Faculty Advisor: Elster
18 April No meeting APS April Meeting (Columbus)
25 April Cole Raisbeck Discussion of questions from previous week.

The lead coordinators for Nuclear Lunch Spring 2018 were faculty members Justin Frantz and Charlotte Elster. Other coordinators were Charlotte Elster, Julie Roche, Prakash, Ken Hicks, Paul King, Zach Meisel, and Daniel Phillips.
Last updated 8 August 2018, by Carl Brune.